Wight Puts It In The Show At The Chili Bowl

After just his second attempt at qualifying for the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals, “Lightning” Larry Wight put the Heffner Racing Enterprises midget into the 31st Chili Bowl Nationals A-Main event.

Wight had everyone’s eyes on him when he finished second in Tuesday nights A-Main. The Super DIRTcar Series regular fended off a late charge from Zach Daum to finish second and lock himself into Saturday’s A-Main in just his second career Chili Bowl attempt in the Heffner Racing Enterprises midget.

“This is only the second time I’ve ever raced one of these, but I told Sean Michael that by the end of the week we’d get this thing to drive like a Modified,” Wight said. “This is going to make the whole week so much easier. These guys put in 120% every day. I can’t ask for anything more.”

Thrown into a field full of drivers who compete in dirt Midgets on a regular basis, Wight showed those in attendance what a Big-Block Modified driver could do on a slick racetrack.

“Me and McCreadie are really the only Modified guys from the Northeast,” Wight said.  “We’re kind of hidden away from everybody up there with our slick tracks, and this is when it helps us.”

Chili Bowl Night #1 A-Main Results: 1. 7BC-Tyler Courtney[1]; 2. 99W-Larry Wight[7]; 3. 5D-Zach Daum[10]; 4. 77-Alex Bright[12]; 5. 8J-Jonathan Beason[9]; 6. 5CB-Chase Briscoe[6]; 7. 4H-Tom Harris[22]; 8. 82M-Steven Shebester[5]; 9. 35-Matt Sherrell[3]; 10. 17-Joey Saldana[17]; 11. 25MP-Michael Pickens[20]; 12. 5H-Aaron Reutzel[18]; 13. 05-Brad Loyet[23]; 14. 51J-R.J. Johnson[19]; 15. 97K-Spencer Bayston[11]; 16. 66-Kevin Thomas Jr[16]; 17. 4R-Ryan Greth[13]; 18. 44X-Wesley Smith[21]; 19. 3H-Mike Hess[2]; 20. 78-Nick Wean[15]; 21. 71K-Kyle Larson[4]; 22. 14W-Matt Westfall[14]; 23. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[8]; 24. 17E-Blake Edwards[24]

Wight rolled out sixth for the 31st Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Main Event on Saturday. Wight was holding on strong until a lap 43 caution came out. Wight realized the motor was overheating but pursued to finish the remaining 12 laps.

Wight was able to cross the finish line with a 13th place finish. It was Wight’s second time at the Chili Bowl and his first ever time starting the main event.

Competing against 370+ drivers, Wight’s efforts earned him the Jason Leffler “Elbows Up” award.

2017 Lucas Oil Chili Bowl A-Main Results:

Pos. No. Driver
1 71W Christopher Bell
2 21 Daryn Pittman
3 39BC Justin Grant
4 67 Tanner Thorson
5 68W Jake Swanson
6 7BC Tyler Courtney
7 5D Zach Daum
8 5 Jerry Coons Jr.
9 68 Ronnie Gardner
10 71G Damion Gardner
11 97 Rico Abreu
12 31 Travis Berryhill
13 99W Larry Wight
14 25C CJ Leary
15 17W Chane Golobic
16 17BC Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
17 91T Tyler Thomas
18 35F Michael Faccinto
19 51X Colby Copeland
20 8J Jonathan Beason
21 47 Danny Stratton
22 5CB Chase Briscoe
23 1R Thomas Meseraull
24 5X Justin Peck
25 05T Gary Taylor