Hodnett sweeps Friday at Williams Grove

Greg Hodnett was one of three drivers pulling double duty Friday, driving in both the 410 and 360 sprint car divisions at Williams Grove.

Lucas Wolfe and Steve Buckwalter joined Hodnett in the busy night of switching between cars.

Nobody was as good as Hodnett, though.

He pulled out to the lead on the start of the 25-lap 410 feature and hit lapped traffic early. Troy Fraker brought out the first caution when he rolled to a stop on the back stretch on Lap 9. Hodnett kept his lead on the restart and hit lap traffic again on lap 18 with Williams Grove point-leader Freddie Rahmer in second place. Rahmer closed the gap in lapped traffic but couldn’t pull off a pass and Hodnett held on to win the Van May Tribute race. Rahmer crossed the line second, Brian Montieth, Lucas Wolfe, TJ Stutts, Danny Dietrich, Alan Krimes, Steve Buckwalter, Cory Haas and Matt Campbell rounded out the top 10.

TJ Stutts set fast time over the 21-car field with a lap of 16.465 seconds coming within .3 seconds of the track record of 16.140 seconds set by Brian Paulus in 2002.

Heat winners were Steve Buckwalter, Chad Trout and Alan Krimes. No consolation race was needed for the 410 sprint cars.

With 42, 360s on hand, the pits filled up and overflow parking for teams was used in the back-stretch parking lot. Five heat races were run for the 360s and the winners were JJ Grasso, Robbie Stillwaggon, Lucas Wolfe, Mark Smith and Trey Starks. Two B-mains were necessary for the large field of cars. Kody Keller and Jon Egan, who travelled from Knoxville, Iowa for the race, transferred out of the first B-main and Adam Carberry and Steve Collins were the transfers from the second B-main.

The caution flag came out on the start of the feature for Steve Collins when he lost his front axle on the front stretch. Eddie Strada brought out the red flag on Lap 3 when he flipped on the back stretch. Pole-sitter JJ Grasso and Curt Michael were also caught up in the wreck. Jared Zimbardi took a wild ride into turn 1 on the second attempt to restart the field. Safety crews removed Zimbardi from his car and he was taken to a local medical facility for observation. He was talking to track officials as the safety crew removed him. Mark Smith had the lead on the restart, with Hodnett lurking in third.

Hodnett made his pass for the lead on Lap 4. George Suprick spun in turn 4 on Lap 7 bringing out another caution. The last caution of the night came on lap 22 for Bryn Gohn as he slowed going into turn 1. Hodnett was able to hold Smith off on the restart and took the checkered flag for the second time to win the Kramer Williamson URC/Patriots feature. Aaron Ott was the last driver to accomplish the double feature win in a 410 and 360 on June 26, 2009. Smith, Lucas Wolfe, Jason Schultz, Trey Starks, Steve Buckwalter, Kevin Nagy, Curt Michael, Josh Weller and Robbie Stillwaggon completed the top 10.